There are two systems in which you can organize your reference list. With the notes and bibliography system, your reference list will be entitled "Bibliography." If you are using the author-date system, you will want to use "References" or "Works Cited" as the title of your reference list.
Since the two systems vary slightly with their formatting, please be sure to consult the appropriate tab for your reference list. Remember:
This list covers the basic resources that you may be using to cite in Chicago. If you need to cite a resource that is not on this list, please consult the The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition or contact one of the Felician University Librarians.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore's Dream: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.
Two Authors
Last name, First name and First name Last name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, Date.
Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.
Last name, First name, First name Last name, and First name Last name. Title: Subtitle. City of Publication: Publisher, Date.
Heatherton, Joyce, James Fitzgilroy, and Jackson Hsu. Meteors and Mudslides: A Trip through...
If there are 4 or more authors, list all the authors in the bibliography entry.
If there are 10 or more authors, only the first seven authors should be listed in the bibliography entry, followed by et al.
Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. Translated by/ Edited by First name, Last name. City of Publication: Publisher, Date.
García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape, 1998.
Chapter author's Last name, First name. "Title of Chapter." In Title, edited by First name Last name of Editor, page numbers
of chapter. City of Publication: Publisher, Date.
Gould, Glenn. "Streisand as Schwarzkopf." In The Glenn Gould Reader, edited by Tim Page, 308-311. New York: Vintage,
1984.
If the publication is issued by an organization, association or corporation and there is no personal author's name on the title page, the organization is listed as the author, even if it is also the publisher.
Organization name. Title of Work. City of Publication: Publisher, Date.
University of Chicago Press. The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017.
For books downloaded from a library or bookseller, the citation will look the same, however you need to indicate that you did not read the print version. This will go at the end of the citation. This applies to books read on tablets (like Kindle) or that are available in PDF format.
Last name, First name. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Date. Format.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle edition.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2008. PDF e-book.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2008. Microsoft Reader e-book.
For books consulted online or through a database, include the DOI (if available) or the URL (if DOI is not available) as part of the citation.
Last name, First name. Title. City of Publication: Publisher, date. doi: .
Antokoletz, Elliot. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartók. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.
Last name, First name. Date. Title. City of Publication: Publisher.
Pollan, Michael. 2006. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin.
For a book with two authors:
Last name, First name, and First name Last name. Date. Title. City of Publication: Publisher.
Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. 2007. The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945. New York: Knopf.
For a book with three authors:
Last name, First name, First name Last name, and First name Last name. Date. Title. City of Publication: Publisher.
Heatherton, Joyce, James Fitzgilroy, and Jackson Hsu. 2008. Meteors and Mudslides: A Trip through Time. New York: Knopf.
For a book with four or more authors, include all authors in reference list entry. Word order and punctuation are the same as for two and three authors.
Last name, First name. Date. Title. Translated by/ Edited by First name Last name. City of Publication: Publisher.
García Márquez, Gabriel. 1988. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape.
Chapter author. Date. "Chapter Title." In the Title of Edited Book, edited by Editor name, page numbers for chapter. City of Publication: Publisher.
Gould, Glenn. 1984. "Streisand as Schwarzkopf." In The Glenn Gould Reader, edited by Tim Page, 308-311. New York: Vintage.
If there is an abbreviation for the organization, like WHO or NASA, then list the abbreviation first followed by the spelling of the organization name.
Organization name. Date. Title. City of Publication: Publisher.
BSI (British Standards Institution). 1985. Specification for the Abbreviation of Title Words and Titles of Publications. London: BSI.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number, issue no. (date): page range.
Blair, Walter. "Americanized Comic Braggarts." Critical Inquiry 4, no. 2 (1977): 331-49.
If a journal is paginated consecutively across a volume or if the month or season appears with the year, the issue number may not be included in the citation.*
If you accessed an article through a database, then you will need to include the DOI (digital object identifier) or if there is no DOI available, the stable URL.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number, issue no. (date): page range. https://doi.org/xxx.xxxx/xxxxxxx.
Liu, Jui-Ch'i. "Beholding the Feminine Sublime: Lee Miller's War Photography." Signs 40, no. 2 (Winter 2015): 308-19.
https://doi.org/10.1086/678242.
If there is no DOI, use the shortened stable URL in the place of the DOI. If the URL is very long and not available, list the name of the commercial database in lieu of the the URL.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number, issue no. (date): page range. Name of Database.
Giannopoulou, Zina. "Prisoners of Plot in José Saramago's The Cave." Philosophy and Literature 38, no. 2 (2014):330-40. Project Muse.
Last name, First name. Date. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number, issue no. : page range.
Blair, Walter. 1977. "Americanized Comic Braggarts." Critical Inquiry 4, no. 2: 331-49.
If a journal is paginated consecutively across a volume or if the month or season appears with the year, the issue number may not be included in the citation.*
If you accessed an article through a database, then you will need to include the DOI (digital object identifier) or if there is no DOI available, the stable URL.
Last name, First name. Date. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number, issue no.: page range. https://doi.org/xxx.xxxx/xxxxxxx.
Liu, Jui-Ch'i. 2015. "Beholding the Feminine Sublime: Lee Miller's War Photography." Signs 40, no. 2 (Winter): 308-19.
https://doi.org/10.1086/678242.
If there is no DOI, use the shortened stable URL in the place of the DOI. If the URL is very long and not available, list the name of the commercial database in lieu of the the URL.
Last name, First name. Date. "Title of Article." Journal Title Volume number, issue no.: page range. Name of Database.
Giannopoulou, Zina. 2014. "Prisoners of Plot in José Saramago's The Cave." Philosophy and Literature 38, no. 2: 330-40. Project Muse.
Last name, First name. "Article Name." Magazine Title, Month and year of publication, .
Walker, Mandy. "Secrets to Stress-Free Flying." Consumer Reports, October 2016.
Include the URL at the end of the citation. If the URL is not available, then include the name of the database where you got the article.
Last name, First name. "Article Name." Magazine Title, Publication Date. URL/ Database name.
Vick, Karl. "Cuba on the Cusp." Time, March 26, 2015. http://time.com/3759629/cuba-us-policy/.
Hanemann, Henry William. "French as She Is Now Spoken." Life. August 26, 1926. ProQuest.
Newspapers are formatted the same way as magazine articles.
Last name, First name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title. Publication Date.
If the newspaper article was accessed online, include the URL at the end. If there is no URL and it was accessed via a database, include the database name.
Last name, First name. "Article Name." Newspaper Title, Publication Date. URL/ Database name.
Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times. March 8, 2017.
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Last name, First name. Year. "Article Name." Magazine Title, Month and year of publication, page range [if known].
Walker, Mandy. 2016. "Secrets to Stress-Free Flying." Consumer Reports, October 2016.
Include the URL at the end of the citation. If the URL is not available, then include the name of the database where you got the article.
Last name, First name. Year. "Article Name." Magazine Title, Publication Date. URL/ Database name.
Vick, Karl. 2015. "Cuba on the Cusp." Time, March 26, 2015. http://time.com/3759629/cuba-us-policy/.
Hanemann, Henry William. 1926. "French as She Is Now Spoken." Life. August 26, 1926. ProQuest.
Newspapers are formatted the same way as magazine articles.
Last name, First name. Year. "Article Title." Newspaper Title. Publication Date.
If the newspaper article was accessed online, include the URL at the end. If there is no URL and it was accessed via a database, include the database name.
Last name, First name. Year. "Article Name." Newspaper Title, Publication Date. URL/ Database name.
Manjoo, Farhad. 2017. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times. March 8, 2017.
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
If you are using website content, it is always a good idea to cite the website. According CMOS, it is not necessary to include the formal citation (though the information should be present in the note). Usually the professor will want you to cite the site, but always double check!
In the website citation, you will use the publication date of the material or the last revision date. If neither one is available, use the date you accessed the material.
Last name, First name. "Title of Content." Title of webpage [do not include if it is the same title of the content you are looking at]. Published/ Last
revised/ Accessed date. URL.
Bouman, Katie. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” Filmed November 2016 at TEDxBeaconStreet, Brookline, MA. Video, 12:51. https://www.ted.com/talks/katie_bouman_what_does_a_black_hole_look_like.
Google. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
Yale University. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
If you are using website content, it is always a good idea to cite the website. According CMOS, it is not necessary to include the formal citation (though the information should be present in the note). Usually the professor will want you to cite the site, but always double check!
In the website citation, you will use the publication date of the material or the last revision date. If neither one is available, use the date you accessed the material.
Last name, First name. Year [if no date given, use "n.d."]. "Title of Content." Title of webpage [do not include if it is the same title of the content you
are looking at]. Published/ Last revised/ Accessed date. URL.
Bouman, Katie. 2016. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” Filmed November 2016 at TEDxBeaconStreet, Brookline, MA. Video, 12:51. https://www.ted.com/talks/katie_bouman_what_does_a_black_hole_look_like.
Google. 2017. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
Yale University. n.d. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
Need more quick examples of how to format citation entries for your Bibliography page?
Check out the Quick Guide from CMOS here: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide/citation-guide-1.html.
Need more quick examples of how to format citation entries for your References or Works Cited page?
Check out the Quick Guide from CMOS here: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide/citation-guide-2.html.
University of Chicago. The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017.