Every Month Is Pride Month. LGBTQ rights are human rights, year round. This guide celebrates LGBTQ+ social and self-acceptance includes free and library resources related to LGBTQ+ issues and communities.
Many disciplines include in depth LGBT scholarly research articles within the context of the subject area. Utilize the database keyword & subject searches to find articles on LGBT themes.
Thankfully, CenterLink, the community of LGBTQ centers, has made it easy for any person across the world to find their local LGBTQ community center. More often than not, they appear where you least expect them.
All you have to do is go to CenterLink by clicking HERE.
From there, you enter your address and the system will locate its nearest LGBTQ community center.
Once you’ve found your local center, all it takes is a simple phone call, email, or car ride to check out the latest events or seek out the closest resources you might need.
GayData.org serves as a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation & gender identity data and measures. This site also provides knowledgeable analysis, commentary and expert "how to" information on gathering such data effectively in scientific surveys, questionnaires and studies.
“Y’ALL BETTER QUIET DOWN”: BLACK AND LATINX LGBTQ+ PIONEERS
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month
The collections of the Library of Congress contain many books, posters, sound recordings, manuscripts and other material produced by, about and for the LGBTQ community. The contributions of this community are preserved as part of our nation’s history, and include noted artistic works, musical compositions and contemporary novels. The Library’s American collections range from the iconic poetry of Walt Whitman through the manuscripts of the founder of LGBTQ activism in Washington, D.C., Frank Kameny.
College is a time of transition and growth in pursuit of your educational and personal goals. The Counseling Center is committed to providing free, confidential quality support services to diverse students. We care about you and your ability to manage the stresses in your life successfully. We work together to help you to achieve balance so you can achieve your goals.
The Counseling Center is located on the main floor of the Student Center in Room 4B on the Rutherford Campus.
LGBTQ+ Terminology
There are many offensive terms used to describe members of the LGBTQ community and should not be used. These can be found at the GLAAD Media Reference Guide.
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction by 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License
Morgan, K., & Rodriguez, M. (2020). The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction.Textbooks Series (imprint). 2.
https://digitalcommons.humboldt.edu/textbooks/2
Homosexual
Law and the Gay Rights Story by 
LGBTQ history and current issues by 
LGBTQ Issues in Education by 
Not straight, not white : black gay men from the march on Washington to the AIDS crisis by 
Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health by 
Stonewall Riots by 
Baldwin by In addition to numerous LGBTQ organizations focused on particular age groups, many general programs and initiatives exist, which seek to bolster community, encourage positive dialog, and ultimately security greater equality. Some of the best nationally recognized initiatives are listed in this section.
Founded with the mission to build sustainable LGBTQ community centers, this organization now has over 200 locations in 46 states and five countries. Aside from strengthening local LGBTQ communities, the organization also provides networking, technical assistance and training, and capacity building services.
With a national focus on leading conversations about equality for the LGBTQ community and informing the media narrative, this organization works with news and entertainment media of all formats and communications and digital strategy outlets to ensure the public is provided with powerful stories about the LGBTQ community that advocates for greater equality.
Gay & Lesbian International Sport Association
With an international reach, GLISA brings together international sports federations, human rights organizations, associations representing sport teams, clubs from major regions, and other stakeholders to facilitate partnerships for building bridges between sports and the LGBTQ community.
Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network
GLSEN’s mission is simple: to ensure every member of school communities feel respected, regardless of their sexual orientation. This is accomplished through educating teachers, students and the public about the common pressures faced by LGBTQ students and working to remove barriers to success.
GE focuses on equipping the LGBTQ community and their allies to fight against inequalities and to push for progressive change. Whether organizing direct action efforts, hosting local community meetings, training members in tactics of direct action or providing professional consulting, the organization is committed to continuously fighting for equality.
HRC is the largest organization fighting for the civil rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Americans. The organization currently has over 1.5 million members, all focused on making true equality for all possible. The organization has a number of research publications outlining equality indexes on areas such as healthcare, employers, states and corporations.
By erasing hate and building compassionate and accepting communities, the Matthew Shepard Foundation hopes to empower LGBTQ individuals to challenge and address discriminatory behavior in their schools, neighborhoods and homes.
National Center for Transgender Equality
Identifying as America’s premier social justice advocacy organization for transgender individuals, NCTE works at the federal, state and local levels to leverage political capital and change laws encouraging discriminatory behavior. The organization has a particularly helpful “Know Your Rights” section of their website with information on housing, healthcare, employment, and more.
National Gay & Lesbian Task Force
Since 1973, NGLTF has focused on building the political capital of the LGBTQ community through activist training, advancing pro-LGBT legislation and raising the profile of LGBTQ interests and causes. The organization is also an excellent resource for learning about the beliefs and platforms of those running for public office in regards to LGBTQ interests.
Through support, education and advocacy efforts, PFLAG seeks to unite the LGBTQ community with friends, families and allies. By doing so, the organization hopes to further equality efforts and lessen discriminatory practices. Currently, there are more than 350 chapters and over 200,000 members.
TYFA is focused on supporting children and families to create support systems offering encouragement and acceptance regardless of sexual orientation. Main areas of work include educating the public about discrimination, working to eliminate oppression and violence, and forming alliances to ensure support services are in place for LGBTQ individuals.
The organization has a number of outreach initiatives and resources to accomplish this mission.
The DLP Fraternity was established for gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning men in 1986. Today, the Greek life organization has over 30 chapters spread throughout the country. The chapters seek to form bonds of brotherhood within a decidedly nontraditional group, offering opportunities to lead, grow, and form lifelong friendships.
Established as the first national lesbian sorority, today this Greek life organization strives to be inclusive of all members, regardless of their sexual orientation. The enduring focus is on creating a sisterhood built on truth in tolerance, knowledge through diversity, bonds of unity, and strength in trust.
Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals
Since 1997, this organization has been working with colleges and educators across the nation to create learning environments where LGBTQ students have equality in all respects. Whether supporting academics or developing inclusive curriculum, the organization advocates on behalf of students by educating faculty and staff.
Reaching Out MBA was created specifically for LGBTQ students pursuing Master’s in Business Administration as a way of empowering and supporting them in their studies and as they enter the professional world. With a mission of inspiring these students to lead the way in equality, the organization educates students about the challenges and opportunities of being an LGBTQ MBA student, inspires them to be leaders, and builds connections among other LGBTQ MBA students.
The Point Foundation operates as a national LGBTQ scholarship fund, helping LGBTQ students achieve their academic and leadership potential regardless of obstacles. The biggest obstacle this organization seeks to remove is concern about financing a college education. Students with financial need who can demonstrate their aspiration to make a significant impact on society can truly benefit from the work of this organization.
The Gender & Sexuality Action Committee
Operating under the umbrella of the American Medical Student Association, GSEC seeks to assure equal access to both medical care and education. The organization aspires to be a leader on issues affecting the health of women, intersex and LGBT communities. This goal is accomplished through providing support initiatives, working with legislators to improve police, advocating for patients and students, and providing safe and supportive environments and leadership opportunities for physicians-in-training.
