Education: Resources by Subject

This comprehensive handbook combines up-to-date research - including Ofsted reports and pupil surveys - with road-tested classroom techniques to suggest how you can make your classroom a dynamic and productive learning environment. Advice is given on all aspects of history teaching, from how to plan for successful outcomes and maximise meaningful assessment, through to exciting ways to examine evidence and develop pupil interest outside of the classroom. The chapter on making effective use of ICT to teach history tackles one of the biggest challenges for teachers today: how to ensure new technologies are utilised to improve learning, without allowing the technology to detract from the history being taught.

Based on the premise that all pupils have at least a latent interest in the past and that the resources to develop this interest are all around us, this encouraging compendium provides a unique A-Z guide to the subject matter, teaching approaches, concepts, organizations, and above all, resources involved in the teaching and learning of history.

Written by a range of history professionals, including HMIs, this book provides excellent ideas on the teaching, learning and organization of history in primary and secondary schools.

A comprehensive review of the research literature on history education with contributions from international experts The Wiley International Handbook of History Teaching and Learning draws on contributions from an international panel of experts. Their writings explore the growth the field has experienced in the past three decades and offer observations on challenges and opportunities for the future. The contributors represent a wide range of pioneering, established, and promising new scholars with diverse perspectives on history education. Comprehensive in scope, the contributions cover major themes and issues in history education including: policy, research, and societal contexts; conceptual constructs of history education; ideologies, identities, and group experiences in history education; practices and learning; historical literacies: texts, media, and social spaces; and consensus and dissent.

This books discusses one of the most frequently discussed subjects in history education during the last two decades, namely how secondary school pupils use the World Wide Web for their learning activities. Based on two case studies in two Dutch schools, the book shows some ways in which the use of the Web has changed history education in at least three respects: first, the findings of the two case studies show that the Web has a huge potential to turn the history class - previously described as boring and too abstract - into a livelier and more attractive environment, where concepts, events, phenomena and processes of the past almost always have textual and/or [audio]visual representations; second, strong indications were observed showing that the Web fosters historical understanding, not only by triggering thinking processes that take pupils beyond the shown contents, but also by prompting them to evaluate sources and sample relevant fragments for their assignments; third, the Web has brought into history education sources that were previously excluded, including those described as unconventional.

In the case studies that make up the bulk of this book, middle and high school history teachers describe the decisions and plans and the problems and possibilities they encountered as they ratcheted up their instruction through the use of big ideas. Framing a teaching unit around a question such as 'Why don't we know anything about Africa?' offers both teacher and students opportunities to explore historical actors, ideas, and events in ways both rich and engaging. Such an approach exemplifies the construct of ambitious teaching, whereby teachers demonstrate their ability to marry their deep knowledge of subject matter, students, and the school context in ways that fundamentally challenge the claim that history is 'boring.'

Enlivening Secondary History is the ideal handbook for busy history teachers who want to do something different in their classrooms, but have little time to plan and organise their lessons. Featuring tried-and-tested practical ideas complete with relevant exemplars and step-by-step advice, this best-selling book is a compendium of creative activities to enhance your lessons. For the 11-19 age range, each activity includes links to important topics including the Crusades, the Reformation, the world wars, the Russian Revolution and many more

A work that is suitable for those looking for a guide to both the theory and practice of what it means to teach historical thinking, to engage in investigative practice with students, and to increase students' capacity to critically read and assess the nature of the complex culture in which they live.

If we expose students to a study of human suffering we have a responsibility to guide them through it. But is this the role of school history? This issue is the rationale behind teaching the Holocaust primarily historical, moral or social? Is the Holocaust to be taught as a historical event, with a view to developing students'' critcal historical skills, or as a tool to combat continuing prejudice and discrimination? These profound questions lie at the heart of Lucy Russell''s fascinating analysis of teaching the Holocaust in school history.

An annotated bibliography covering historical novels about the United States from the colonial period to the era of the Iraq War. Ideal for school librarians, history teachers, and public librarians working with youth. The titles were published between 2000 and 2013, and are appropriate for seventh to twelfth graders.

Over the last thirty years, women's history has developed from a newfangled, marginal area of the study of history to an established method of analysis, a staple in all history departments. This volume will serve as a serve as an introduction to how to teach US women's history for secondary and post-secondary teachers. While there are books on women's history suitable for undergraduate course adoption, such as Major Problems in Women's History, and readers and synthetic books about US women's history, there exists no book that addresses how to teach women's history. This book will fill that niche and will be written by many top professors in the field. The book will be divided into three parts, with 20 contributors.

What and how to teach in the K-16 classroom history has been a perennial and, at times, heated debate. Beginning as early as 1892, the question of what knowledge is of the most worth and what should be the central function of the history curriculum became a focus of many interested in education. It was felt that the teachers needed to move away from "traditional" methods of teaching history, such as rote memorization and the "dry and lifeless system of instruction by textbook," and find new and engaging ways to "broaden and cultivate the mind." Unfortunately, these recommendations faced many critics and did not take hold in K-16 classrooms at this time or, frankly, at any point since then. Even though we tend to have a nostalgic memory of earlier time periods and, in turn, the educational capabilities of the children from various times in our nation's past, the results from multiple studies examining the historical knowledge base of America's youth has remained fairly discouraging. Much of the lack of knowledge present stems from the manner in which history is traditionally taught. Ineffective instructional methods greatly impact the interest levels, or more frequently the distaste, generated for learning about historical content and, thus, the public's corresponding perception of the importance of history within K-16 curricula. This book makes an effort at overcoming the persistent boredom and lack of historical knowledge present in our students, by focusing on ways in which history instruction can be improved.

Provides educators with information on how to provide motivational and challenging math instruction for middle and high school students. Includes advice on setting up the classroom, planning learning experiences, and assessing results.

With 30+ video clips-great for use in teacher training sessions! If you are preparing early childhood educators for the critical task of teaching math, this groundbreaking resource is just what you need to plan and implement effective professional development. Translating recommendations from the National Research Council's early mathematics report into clear and actionable goals, this text is your key to improving the way educators teach math to children ages 3-6. You'll get an in-depth guide to what math teachers need to teach; a research-based framework for strengthening professional.

The authors present dynamic learning activities with research-based strategies and sources for further reading to increase students' confidence in math while effectively addressing NCTM standards.

The math teacher's go-to resource-now updated for the Common Core! What works in math and why has never been the issue; the research is all out there. Where teachers struggle is the "how." That's the big service What Successful Math Teachers Do provides. It's a powerful portal to what the best research looks like in practice strategy by strategy-now aligned to both the Common Core and the NCTM Standards

Using research-based and field-tested methodology, this book helps elementary math teachers create programs for students with special needs, eliminating labels that stigmatize children and restrain instructors.

This thorough revision of Teaching Secondary Mathematics: Techniques and Enrichment Units includes the most practical, step-by-step techniques for teaching mathematics in today's assessment and standards driven environment.

Smart implementation of the Common Core State Standards requires both an overall understanding of the standards and a grasp of their implications for planning, teaching, and learning. Here, mathematics teachers and teacher leaders will find information they need to begin adapting their courses and practices to ensure all students master the new and challenging material the standards present and graduate ready for college or career. A practical lesson planning process to use with the Common Core, based on Classroom Instruction That Works, 2nd Ed., is included, along with three sample lessons.

Smart implementation of the Common Core State Standards requires both an overall understanding of the standards and a grasp of their implications for planning, teaching, and learning. Here, middle school mathematics teachers and teacher leaders will find information they need to begin adapting their practices to ensure that all students master the challenging material present in the standards. A practical lesson planning process to use with the Common Core, based on Classroom Instruction That Works, 2nd Ed., is included, along with three sample lessons.

Dr. Judy Willis presents this informative guide to getting better results in math class. Willis presents a practical approach for how we can improve academic results by demonstrating certain behaviors and teaching students in a way that minimizes negativity.

Hands-On Math Projects with Real-Life Applications, Second Edition offers an exciting collection of 60 hands-on projects to help students in grades 6-12 apply math concepts and skills to solving everyday, real-life problems! The book is filled with classroom-tested projects that emphasize: cooperative learning, group sharing, verbalizing concepts and ideas, efficient researching, and writing clearly in mathematics and across other subject areas. Each project achieves the goal of helping to build skills in problem solving, critical thinking, and decision making, and supports an environment in which positive group dynamics flourish.

Aligned with NCTM Standards, this brief book helps teachers in elementary, middle, and high schools to become better acquainted with some of the resource materials and information available on the Internet for teaching mathematics. Assists readers in using and understanding the developing world of information technology for teaching mathematics. NCTM Principles and Standards for School Mathematics overview. Provides useful information regarding mathematics reform, presents an example of teaching mathematics that reflects the NCTM standards, and gives students a clear basis for understanding modification in mathematics.

A perennial bestseller by eminent mathematician G. Polya, How to Solve It will show anyone in any field how to think straight. In lucid and appealing prose, Polya reveals how the mathematical method of demonstrating a proof or finding an unknown can be of help in attacking any problem that can be "reasoned" out--from building a bridge to winning a game of anagrams. Generations of readers have relished Polya's deft--indeed, brilliant--instructions on stripping away irrelevancies and going straight to the heart of the problem.

Donnelly and Jenkins consider who wants to change school science education and why within the context of shifts in government policy towards teacher education, curriculum development and science education.

Science Teachers' Learning provides guidance for schools and districts on how best to support teachers' learning and how to implement successful programs for professional development. This report makes actionable recommendations for science teachers' learning that take a broad view of what is known about science education, how and when teachers learn, and education policies that directly and indirectly shape what teachers are able to learn and teach. The challenge of developing the expertise teachers need to implement the NGSS presents an opportunity to rethink professional learning for science teachers. Science Teachers' Learning will be a valuable resource for classrooms, departments, schools, districts, and professional organizations as they move to new ways to teach science.

This book is a collection of some favorite teaching ideas from science teacher educators from across the United States and abroad.

'Teaching Science With Interactive Notebooks' gives science teachers everything they need to incorporate interactive notebooks into classroom teaching & learning. All of the how-to is here for using notebooks to promote deeper student learning critical & scientific thinking, & reinforcement of learning throughout the academic year.

This book is intended to encourage creativity and experimentation in teaching primary science, which are regularly recognised as features of outstanding teaching.

The editors of this book have a straightforward goal: to inspire you to engage your students through public collaboration in scientific research-also known as citizen science. The book is specifically designed to get you comfortable using citizen science to support independent inquiry through which your students can learn both content and process skills.

Supporting newly hired science teachers has taken on an increased importance in our schools. This book shares the most current information about the status of newly hired science teachers, different ways in which to support newly hired science teachers, and different research approaches that can provide new information about this group of teachers.

This book identifies and describes several different contemporary science teaching approaches and presents recent applications of these approaches in promoting interest among students. It promotes conceptual understanding of science concepts among them as well. This book identifies pertinent issues related to strategies of teaching science and describes best practice The chapters in this book are culmination of years of extensive research and development efforts to understand more about how to teach science by the distinguished scholars and practicing teachers.

Sprinkled throughout Rise and Shine is candid advice from seasoned science teachers who offer both useful strategies and warm reassurance. Rise and Shine is designed to help preservice teachers, those in the first few years of teaching (regardless of grade level), and those who may be entering a new situation within the teaching field.

Science is seen as a promising context because it is not only a body of accepted knowledge, but also involves processes that lead to this knowledge. Engaging students in scientific processes--including talk and argument, modeling and representation, and learning from investigations--builds science proficiency. At the same time, this engagement may develop 21st century skills. Exploring the Intersection of Science Education and 21st Century Skills addresses key questions about the overlap between 21st century skills and scientific content and knowledge; explores promising models or approaches for teaching these abilities; and reviews the evidence about the transferability of these skills to real workplace applications.

What does 'constructivism' mean? What is the difference between 'reliability' and 'validity'? You'll be surprised at the ease of finding definitive answers to terminology questions like these with The Lingo of Learning. Ideal for the time-pressed science teacher who is ready to learn once and for all what key terms really mean.

Offers effective strategies that can be implemented immediately for science teachers of students in Grades 3-8. Provides ideas, aligned with national science education standards, for incorporating language analysis and science literature into inquiry-based science classrooms.

Are you interested in using argument-driven inquiry (ADI) for elementary instruction but just aren't sure how to do it? You aren't alone. Argument-Driven Inquiry in Third-Grade Science will provide you with both the information and instructional materials you need to start using this method right away. The book is a one-stop source of expertise, advice, and investigations. It's designed to help your third graders work the way scientists do while integrating literacy and math at the same time.

If ever a subject could benefit from a strong dose of perspective, it?s evolution. This important new book supplies the necessary insights by bringing together the views of leading scientists, professors, and teachers. Working from the premise that only those students whose schools teach them about the nature of science will truly understand evolution, the collection gathers 12 influential articles first published in the NSTA member journal, The Science Teacher.

If you like the popular "Teaching Science Through Trade Books" columns in NSTA's journal Science and Children, or if you've become enamored of the award-winning Picture-Perfect Science Lessons series, you'll love this new collection. It's based on the same time-saving concept: By using children's books to pique students' interest, you can combine science teaching with reading instruction in an engaging and effective way.

From successfully setting up a classroom to achieving meaningful instruction, science teachers face a variety of challenges unique to their practice every day. This guide provides new and seasoned teachers with practical ideas, strategies, and insights to help address essential topics in effective science teaching, including emphasizing inquiry, building literacy, implementing technology, using a wide variety of science resources, and maintaining student safety.

This book builds on recent interest in the role of representations in learning to argue for a pedagogical practice based on students actively generating and exploring representations. The book describes a sustained inquiry in which the authors worked with primary and secondary teachers of science, on key topics identified as problematic in the research literature. Data from classroom video, teacher interviews and student artifacts were used to develop and validate a set of pedagogical principles and explore student learning and teacher change issues. The authors argue the theoretical and practical case for a representational focus. The pedagogical approach is illustrated and explored in terms of the role of representation to support quality student learning in science. Separate chapters address the implications of this perspective and practice for structuring sequences around different concepts, reasoning and inquiry in science,

This book features real case studies with quantitative reasoning skills enmeshed in the story line to help teach biology and show its relevance to the lives of future citizens.

Stories give life and substance to scientific methods and provide an inside look at scientists in action. Case studies deepen scientific understanding, sharpen critical-thinking skills, and help students see how science relates to their lives. In Science Stories, Clyde Freeman Herreid, Nancy Schiller, and Ky Herreid have organized case studies into categories such as historical cases, science and the media, and ethics and the scientific process.

This book explores how two primary school teachers, identified as effective practitioners, approached science teaching and learning over a unit of work. In recording the teaching and learning experiences in their classrooms, the author highlights how the two teachers adopted different approaches, drawing on their particular beliefs and knowledge, to support student learning in science in ways that were appropriate to their contexts as well as reflected their different experiences, strengths and backgrounds.

Science in the City examines how language and culture matter for effective science teaching. Author Bryan A. Brown argues that, given the realities of our multilingual and multicultural society, teachers must truly understand how issues of culture intersect with the fundamental principles of learning. This book links an exploration of contemporary research on urban science teaching to a more generative instructional approach in which students develop mastery by discussing science in culturally meaningful ways.

Offers middle and high school science teachers practical advice on how they can teach their students key concepts while building their understanding of the subject through various levels of learning activities.

Teaching Math, Science, and Technology in Schools Today: Guidelines for Engaging Both Eager and Reluctant Learners offers unique, engaging, and thought-provoking ideas. The activities open imaginative doors to learning and provide opportunities for all learners. It surveys today's most important trends and dilemmas while explaining how collaboration and critical thinking can be translated into fresh classroom practices. Questions, engagement, and curiosity are viewed as natural partners for mathematical problem solving, scientific inquiry, and learning about technology. Like the Common Core State Standards, the book builds on the social nature of learning to provide suggestions for both eager and reluctant learners. The overall goal of the book is to deepen the collective conversation, challenge thinking, and provide some up-to-date tools for teachers so they can help reverse the steady erosion of math, science, and technology understanding in the general population.