Felician University Library: Religious Studies Resources: Research Guides

Religion & Philosophy Databases

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Library eBooks

Encyclopedia of Religion 2 by Lindsay Jones (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028659978
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. It emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Charles H. Lippy (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor)
ISBN: 9781608712571
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life. Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States.

Religious Studies Resources

This guide contains library and online research resources related to Religious and Bible Studies.

Open Access

On this tab you will find open access resources (OA). OA means free access to information and unrestricted use of electronic resources for everyone. Any kind of digital content can be OA, from texts and data to software, audio, video, and multi-media.

Bibles, Concordances, & Commentaries

On this tab you will find links to online Bibles as well as curated lists of library owned commentaries and concordances, both print and electronic.

If you have questions, comments, suggestions, or need help with this guide or your research, please contact burton-contem@felician.edu.

Library Print Books

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society by William H. Swatos, (Editor)
Call Number: BL60 .E53 1998
ISBN: 9780761989561
Publication Date: 1998-02-05
The sacred and profane continue to interface, conflict, and intermingle in novel ways. The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society provides a guide map for these developments. From succinct, brief notes to essay-length entries, this encyclopedia covers world religious leaders and scholars--past and present--in the United States and the world. This comprehensive volume is an essential reference for the study of the anthropology, psychology, politics, or sociology of religion.
World Religion by Mike Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: BL25.W67 2006
ISBN: 9780737729696
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
This volume is essential reading for anyone seeking fundamental information on the major religions of the world. Four chapters position several opposing essays, evaluating if religion can solve global problems, if religion promotes war, if religion and science oppose one another, and if religious fundamentalism is a serious problem.
Religions of the World by J. Gordon Melton (Editor); Martin Baumann (Editor)
Call Number: BL80.3 .R45 2002
ISBN: 9781576072233
Publication Date: 2002-08-20
An extraordinary survey, in four volumes, of the religious belief and practice in all 276 of the world's nations and territories. From the Aboriginal Cult of Maria Lionza in Venezuela to Zionist and Apostolic churches in South Africa and Zimbabwe, Religions of the World is the only comprehensive compilation of the world's existing major religious communities.

Librarian

Maria Burton-Conte

Religious Studies Resources: Research Guides

Citation Resources

Religion & Philosophy Databases

Library eBooks

Religious Studies Resources

Library Print Books

Librarian

Related Library Guides