Special Education: Books

Special Education for Young Learners with Disabilities brings together leaders in the field of young children with disabilities, to present their ideas and research on different disability topics. Beginning with an introduction to the topic, the remaining chapters include discussions on learning disabilities, emotional and behavioral disorders, and intellectual disabilities; those who are deaf/hard of hearing; those who have visual impairments; those who have autism, severe and multiple disabilities, and traumatic brain injury; those who are culturally and linguistically diverse; those who have physical disabilities, and other health impairments.

A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Updated through current events, this edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects-how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.In this third edition, Sacks offers both specific information developed and implemented since the second edition (published in 2009) and provides an interdisciplinary lens offering a global perspective of the field moving the reader beyond information to actualization.

Every child should have access to an education that works. The Quest for a Meaningful Special Education follows the educational journeys of nine students with a language-based learning disability (LBLD) who were removed from a debilitating learning situation and enrolled in a school designed to address their particular learning needs. Through following their journeys, the book explores the role of cultures within and outside the school and examines some of the ways that the construction of special education has affected student learning.

This volume describes the resource allocation for compulsory and special needs education for a selection of well-performing countries and regions on PISA tests. By studying the funding systems in well-performing countries and regions the authors identify the elements in the respective funding systems that are associated with best outcomes and have the ideal characteristics to pursue particular goals of education systems such as equity and efficiency. The funding methods of primary and secondary education as well as special needs education are covered.

Fully up to date with the SEND Code of Practice this book explores all the key contemporary issues relevant to supporting children with special needs in an early years context. Combining theory with practice, it demonstrates how to ensure children and individual needs are at the heart of early years provision.

This book offers a comprehensive look at all that is necessary to ensure success of children with exceptionalities, birth to age 5, while understanding that typical peers will also benefit from the interventions and strategies suggested. "From Cradle to Classroom: A Guide to Special Education for Young Children" is a book written for regular and special education teachers, school administrators, school psychologists, related educational personnel, day care providers, parents, graduate students, and policy makers who work on behalf of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers to ensure they are ready for formal education when they reach age 5.

Written after thirty years of experience, Inclusion: The Dream and the Reality in Special Education, chronicles inspiring, insightful and even hilarious efforts to include students with disabilities in public schools. Can a faith healer cure autism? Why would a child eat a cigarette? What can the police do for a child who sucked his lips inside a soda can? Inclusion: The Dream and the Reality in Special Education reveals how these and other problems have been addressed by caring teachers from institutions to self-determination.

Your blueprint for building structure, consistency, and accountability year-round! This must-have guide provides special education teachers with a solid, workable action plan to manage the classroom and ensure student success

As states adopt more rigorous academic standards, schools must define how special education fits into standards-aligned curricula, instruction, and assessment. Utilizing PLC practices, general and special educators must develop collaborative partnerships in order to close the achievement gap and maximize learning for all. The authors encourage all educators to take collective responsibility in improving outcomes for students with special needs.

This book identifies school-level policies and practices that may lead to negative outcomes for students, such as getting arrested, and suggests alternatives.

This practical reference clarifies what general education teachers need to know about special education law and processes and provides a guide to instructional best practices for the inclusive classroom.

This book purposefully connects practice to research, and vice versa, through the use of deeply personal stories in the form of autoethnographic memoirs. In this collection, twenty contributors share selected tales of teaching students with dis/abilities in K-12 settings across the USA, including tentative triumphs, frustrating failures, and a deep desire to understand the dynamics of teaching and learning. The authors also share an early awareness of significant dissonance between academic knowledge taught to them in teacher education programs and their own experiential knowledge in schools.

Disability and Teaching highlights issues of disability in K-12 schooling faced by teachers, who are increasingly accountable for the achievement of all students regardless of the labels assigned to them. It is designed to engage prospective and practicing teachers in examining their personal theories and beliefs about disability and education.

Like no other book available, Working with Students with Disabilities: A Guide for School Counselors provides comprehensive coverage of school counselors' roles in special education and working with students with disabilities and connects that coverage to both the ASCA national model and CACREP standards. In Working with Students with Disabilities, school counselors will find thoughtful analyses of the legal and regulatory basis for many of the practices in special education, including an overview of pertinent laws including the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. They'll gain an in-depth understanding of the leadership role that school counselors should play in supporting students, teachers, and families, and they'll also come away with an understanding of the common challenges--like bullying, cyberbullying, and successful transitioning from high school to adult life-- to which students with disabilities may be more vulnerable, as well as less common challenges such as behavioral difficulties, autism spectrum disorders, and many more.

Grounded in the belief that all students can learn to read and write print, this book is a thorough yet practical guide for teaching students with significant disabilities. It explains how to provide comprehensive literacy instruction addressing these students' needs, whether they are emergent readers and writers or students acquiring conventional literacy skills. General and special educators, speech-language pathologists, and other professionals will find concise research synopses and theoretical frameworks, practical lesson formats, guidance on incorporating assessment and using assistive technology, and more.