Felician University Library: Biology: Finding Scholarly Articles

Journal Databases

arXiv This link opens in a new window
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,912,719 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Access to GreenFILE was made possible in part by the New Jersey State Library and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Finding Scholarly Articles

One easy way to get started is to use the Library Catalog. Enter search terms related to your topic, then check off "Peer Reviewed" under Content Type and "Article" under Format on the left-hand side under search filters.
- Make an appointment with a librarian for help selecting appropriate Keywords and Search Terms.
Another way is to choose a database that's relevant to your research topic. Contact a librarian if you need assistance choosing a database to use or start with the databases listed in this guide.
The library's databases include scholarly journal articles. Use the search filters to limit your search to either "scholarly", "academic", or "peer-reviewed" -- different databases may use different wording to indicate.
In some cases, you'll have to determine for yourself whether an article is a scholarly source, based on the journal in which it is published, or by looking at characteristics such as the bibliography, abstract, or other aspects of the article.
- See Identifying Scholarly Articles tab

The Library Catalog

Using the Full-Text filter will filter out any articles that you do not have full access to through the library. If you come across an article in the catalog that we do not have (this will only happen if you are not using "Full-Text" filter), you can request a copy of the article via InterLibrary Loan.