About the Library: Collection Development

Purpose

The Felician University Library Collection Development Policy provides guideline for the selection of library materials.  Resources are selected to support the University's undergraduate, graduate, and certificate programs. Some materials may also be acquired to support the instructional and research needs of faculty, staff, administration, and other members of the Felician community.

Library Vision Statement

The Felician University Library is a center for discovery, inspiration, instruction, reflection, and collaboration. Through an ethic of outstanding service, it ensures access to a set of global resources, with the overarching purpose of helping students, both on and off campus, conduct research, explore an increasingly complex architecture of information, achieve academic success, and acquire skills for life-long learning.

Intellectual Freedom

The Felician University Library supports the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights, Intellectual Freedom Statement, Code of Ethics, and Freedom to Read statement.

Subject Areas

The subject areas collected are those that support the curricula of Felician University.

Languages

English is the primary language of the materials in the library's collection. Some foreign language materials will be acquired to support foreign language and English as a Second Language programs.

Chronology

The emphasis is on collecting materials of current significance. Materials of historical or research value may be retained.

Cultural Diversity

Materials in the collection reflect cultural diversity. A variety of social, economic, geographic, ethnic, racial, religious, and gender characteristics are represented.

Format

1. Reference Materials: Electronic format is preferred.
2. Books: Hardcover books are preferred unless a paperback edition is available and there is a price difference of more than 25 percent. Approximately 50 percent of books purchased will be in electronic format.
3. Textbooks: Textbooks are only purchased upon faculty request. Donations from faculty for the library's reserve collection are welcomed.
4. Children's Books: Juvenile and young adult literature, big books, board books, textbooks used by K-12 students, and study guides are collected for the Toron Room.
5. Theses and Final Projects: Copies of Felician University theses and final projects are collected.
6. Periodicals: Print journals are only acquired when they are not available in full text in our electronic databases. Electronic journals are preferred.
7. Electronic Databases: The Felician University Library subscribes to electronic databases which support the university curricula.
8. Audiovisual Materials: CDs, DVDs, audio cassettes, and video cassettes may be collected.
9. Microforms: Microforms are not actively collected, but microfiche and microfilm already in the collection may be retained.

Curriculum Correlation

Materials should be relevant to the Felician University curricula.

Multiple Subject Coverage

Materials which are potentially useful in several subject areas are more likely to be purchased than materials which are likely to have low or specialized use.

Reviews

Materials should have received favorable reviews in the professional literature.

Award Winners

Award-winning books may be collected comprehensively.

Quality

The reputation and significance of the author, artist, composer or editor; the subject competence and qualification of the authors; and the reputation of the publisher, producer, or manufacturer should be considered.

Format

The appropriateness of the format should be considered.

Cost

The cost should be reasonable relative to the budget.

Multi-Ethnic/Multi-Cultural

The material should reflect our society of multiple ethnic, racial, religious, social, and gender characteristics. It should represent a variety of economic and geographic orientations, as well as the problems, aspirations, attitudes, and ideals of our society.

Controversy

Material should be evaluated as to how it deals with controversial issues and whether there is evidence of bias. Materials which provide opposing sides of controversial issues may help develop the user's critical reading, listening, viewing and thinking skills.

Accessibility

Periodicals that are indexed through bibliographic indexing and abstracting tools are preferred. For electronic resources, the number of simultaneous users should be considered.

Duplication

Duplicate copies of materials are not purchased unless there is sufficient demand.

Library Liaisons

Library liaisons are responsible for selecting materials in their assigned subject areas.

Suggestions

Faculty suggestions are welcomed. Student suggestions and suggestion from other members of the Felician community will also be considered. 

Gifts

Gifts of books and other materials from donors within the Felician community of current students, faculty, and staff are considered. An inventory of the potential gift from the prospective donor is request to assist library faculty in overall assessment of the titles and in identifying overlap and duplication of those titles with the library collection.

Deselection

Library liaisons are responsible for deselection in their assigned subject areas. Faculty advice is frequently requested. Materials that are in poor condition, are out of date, are not relevant to the curriculum, or are duplicates are candidates for deselection.

Replacement

Library liaisons will decide whether to replace lost or missing materials in their assigned subject areas. Currency, relevancy to the curriculum, and availability of a newer edition will be considered.