This guide to data analysis includes selected data sources, how to find data in the library databases, tutorials and information for data analysis software, as well as selected books and ebooks from the FUL collections.
Statistics can help provide concrete examples of a larger trend, give the basis for an important chart or graph, or make theoretical arguments tangible.
There are two main branches of statistics:
Be aware of bias in statistics! Numbers can be manipulated, and charts and graphs can be arranged to give a certain impression. Always double-check your facts!
In ProQuest databases, the Advanced Search screen includes a Document type limit. Select Statistics/Data Report to search for statistics.
This limit is available in the following databases:
Offers customers hundreds of industry profiles, covering over 1000 industry segments. Many profiles include in-depth international industry information, creating a suite of data that is continuously updated to ensure content is both timely and top of mind.
Statistics on older Americans (age 65 and older).
United States and international surveys and data.
Statistics on firearms, explosives, arson, alcohol, and tobacco.
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Statistics on crime and justice in the United States.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making.
Population report on federal inmates.
Statistics on offshore activities.
The Financial Report of the United States Government, Monthly Treasury Statement, Monthly Statement of the Public Debt, and other reports and publications.
United States transportation statistics.
A good source of data about the United States' people and economy
Health statistics.
Statistics on topics of public health importance.
Statistics on child and family well-being, child abuse and neglect, child welfare and foster care, adoption, and related subjects.
The purpose of Data.gov is to improve public access to Federal data and expand creative use of those data beyond the walls of government by encouraging innovative ideas.
Statistics on drugs.
This web site is meant to be a comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, in particular economic forecasting.
Statistics on crime.
United States tax statistics.
Statistics on mental illness.
Maternal and infant health statistics.
A survey of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of 8th, 10th, and 12th graders.
Weekly data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Information on homelessness in the United States.
Educational statistics for the United States and other nations.
United States health statistics.
Statistics on domestic violence.
Data on traffic safety and motor vehicle crashes.
Information on substance abuse.
Mental health statistics.
National and state level data on mental health and the use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs.
Statistics on weather-related hazards.
This site provides access to public health datasets and information on the health status of New Jerseyans.
Statistics on occupational health and safety.
Data on the religious makeup, religious beliefs and practices, and social and political attitudes of the American public.
United States health data.
Reports on economic and policy issues.
Federal government statistics that can be accessed by agency, topic or key word.
Statistical data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas.
Statistics for states, counties, and cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
United States immigration statistics
United States and international surveys and data.
The World Factbook is produced annually by the Central Intelligence Agency. The documents contain all vital information and statistics for most countries around the world.
Provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
A report on terrorism, published by the Institute for Economics & Peace.
Data on human development.
ILO has developed labour statistics that cover a wide range of topics related to the world of work. They include statistics about different forms of work as well as statistics about labour markets.
Respurce where users can access datasets compiled by the Organization for Economic Cooperaton and Development (OECD).
Global statistics on economic and social development, the environment, education, and health.
You can use this tool with World Bank Data to create interactive maps and graphs. This tool uses Flash.
Economic, social and financial topics compiled by the United Nations and affiliated agencies.
Statistics on natural disasters.
Statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage, and divorce.
Energy balances for 126 countries and electricity profiles for 180 countries.
Data on production, trade and consumption of energy for solid, liquid, and gaseous fuels, electricity, and heat.
Indicators on air and climate, biodiversity, energy and minerals, forests, governance, inland water resources, land and agriculture, marine and coastal areas, natural disasters, and waste.
Economic statistics.
Data on population size, national official population estimates, and the number and rate of births, deaths and infant deaths, as well as United Nations estimates of the mid-year population of the world and its major areas and regions.
Enterprise surveys measure business perceptions of the investment climate and can be used to analyze the link between job creation and productivity growth. Data is available on over 100 countries and from more than 100,000+ companies.
Education indicators from the World Bank.
Gender statistics from the World Bank.
Data on financial system characteristics for 203 economies.
Health, nutrition, and population statistics.
Statistics on poverty and equity.
Global development indicators from the World Bank.
Provides information about worldwide health issues, data, and reports.
Statistics on Ebola.
Carrier enrollment reports, HMO reports, and New Jersey commercial health market data.
New Jersey offender statistics.
Performance reports on New Jersey schools.
Data and reports from the New Jersey Department of Education.
Data on breastfeeding and New Jersey hospitals.
Data from New Jersey cardiac surgery hospitals.
New Jersey health statistics.
Data on the performance of New Jersey hospitals.
New Jersey inpatient quality indicators.
Reports on medical errors and trends in patient adverse events occurring in hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers.
New Jersey patient safety indicators.
New Jersey statistics on sexually transmitted diseases.
Public health datasets and information on the health status of New Jerseyans.
New Jersey demographic data.
New Jersey economic indicators.
Statistics on employment and wages in New Jersey.
Statistics on juvenile crime and justice in New Jersey; updated weekly.
New Jersey statistical data.
Statistics on crime in New Jersey
From the World Bank, macro data on economic, social, educational, financial, labor, poverty, environmental, health and other social science indicators for more 150 countries.
Each year the Human Development Report (HDR) presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development. All these data are available for download here in several different ways.
The WVS is a worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS has carried out representative national surveys in 97 societies containing almost 90 percent of the world’s population.
Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. We acquire, preserve, and distribute original research data and provide training in its analysis. We also offer access to publications based on our data holdings.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infanc
The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project.
WRDS provides instant access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world and CPS. Its goals are to: 1) Collect and preserve data and documentation and 2) Harmonize data and 3) Disseminate free data.
The Internet Center for Corruption Research provides you with the TI-Corruption Perceptions Index, a comparative assessment of countries' integrity performance, alongside with related academic research on corruption.
Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) consists of eight topically focused data archives, an online data analysis system, and teaching modules.
Index to the most extensive and complete archive of television news. Streamed video access to NBC and CNN content; other network content available for loan for a fee. Place loan requests through Interlibrary Loan; depending on costs, fees may be covered.
UTIP is a small research group concerned with measuring and explaining movements of inequality in wages and earnings and patterns of industrial change around the world.
Via web application software, data citation standards, and statistical methods, the Dataverse Network project increases scholarly recognition and distributed control for authors, journals, archives, teachers, and others who produce or organize data; facilitates data access and analysis for researchers and students; and ensures long-term preservation whether or not the data are in the public domain.
The primary purpose of this website is to make available the data that Howard Rosenthal and Keith Poole generated out of their many research projects. Keith and Howard adhere to the policy that all of their datasets and software are made freely available to anyone who asks for them.
The overall mission of the ISPS Data Archive is to promote the preservation of data in the social sciences, with an emphasis on data from randomized controlled trials. Access to the ISPS Archive is provided at no cost and is granted for scholarship and research purposes only. The Archive currently holds replication files for studies conducted by ISPS-affiliated authors, and includes additional materials associated with a given study as well as high quality metadata.
The ISSP is a continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research. It brings together pre-existing social science projects and coordinates research goals, thereby adding a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective to the individual national studies.
The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems(CSES) is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Online analysis of GSS, ANES and other datasets using SDA
This collection is a powerful research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. This data is presented with nonbiased commentary and includes vital biographical and voting data for members of Congress, legislative information organized by topic, key votes, legislative analysis, interest group scores of members, encyclopedic information on Congress, and Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress.
On the Doctor of Business Administration guide, you will find a Statistical Analysis tab listing Business statistics books and resources. For more information on business statistics, see the DBA Research Guide.