The article presents a discussion on starting a business adapted from the book "Startup Money Made Easy: The Inc. Guide to Every Financial Question About Starting, Running, and Growing Your Business," by Maria Aspan. Topics mentioned include the importance of financial management in starting a business, the insights of Melissa Ben-Ishay, co-founder of mini-cupcake firm Baked by Melissa, on the importance of product marketing, and the ways to manage service-based companies.
The article offers the author's insights about starting a business and mentions topics including entrepreneurship, definition of entrepreneur, and business startups.
FEIFER, J., CARTER, C., SCHOMER, S., & BRODY, L. (2019). The Rule I Broke. Entrepreneur, 47(2), 36–43. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=b9h&AN=134818514&site=ehost-live&scope=site
McKeever, M. P. (2019). CHAPTER 2: Do You Really Want to Own a Business? How to Write a Business Plan, 16–26. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=b9h&AN=133745846&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Provides business articles for specific businesses. May provide actual sample business plan and financial data and/or guides to starting and operating business. Searchable by business.
Provides links to entrepreneurial news and events. Provides how-to guides about many aspects of business including operations, leadership and strategy, business travel, sales, marketing, human resources, finance and capital, law and taxation, writing a business plan, customer service, and running a one-person business.
The Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. MBDA is the only federal agency created specifically to foster the establishment and growth of minority-owned businesses in America.Provides help guides for planning, forming, and marketing a business.
Presents a definition of entrepreneurship and contrasts entrepreneurship to small business. Provides a sample business plan outline that lists topics frequently covered by business plans, a business model. Provides tips for making a successful pitch to venture capitalists, including finding the right venture capital firm, building credibility, and delivering your presentation.
Since its founding on July 30, 1953, the U.S. Small Business Administration has delivered millions of loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses.
Founded in 1966 in Harlem, the Workshop in Business Opportunities (WIBO) is a private non-profit organization that is committed to assisting men and women with the drive to become successful entrepreneurs.
WIBO’s mission is to enable small business owners and budding entrepreneurs from underserved communities to obtain financial success by starting, operating, and building successful businesses that develop economic power, provide jobs and improve communities.
Business.NJ.gov is your one-stop for the information you need to do business in New Jersey. If you're starting a business, try out their Starter Kits to quickly plan how to register with the State and comply with State rules and regulations. You can also explore a rich library of content—like hundreds of FAQs—and resources to help you manage, operate, and grow your business.
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) dedicates its energy and resources to providing support to small businesses and small-business owners across the nation. SBA site provides links to information about starting, financing, and expanding a business.
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
This database includes hard-to-find local and regional business publications, including McClatchey Tribune titles, with news about local companies, analysis, information on local markets and more. It also allows users to research employment opportunities, compile data on benefits and compensation, learn about corporate strategies and other topics from a local and regional perspective.
Includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. ABI/INFORM Global includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
Provides business professionals with critical information about companies, products, and executives as well as in-depth news and analysis of industry trends and developments. With ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, users can study and compare specific industries such as food & drink, pharmacy, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and petrochemicals.
Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
