When writing your Chicago-formatted paper, you will want to use evidence from the resources you have gathered to support your thesis statement. In Chicago, this can be done a couple of ways. But it ultimately depends on if you are using the notes and bibliography system or the author-date system. This should be determined by your professor. If it is not, ask them to verify.
If you are using the notes and bibliography system, your direct quotes and paraphrased sentences will be cited with footnotes or endnotes. This means that your shortened citation will appear at the bottom of the page (footnote) or at the end of your paper (endnote) and will be noted in the body of your paper with superscript numbers.
If you are using the author-date system, your direct quotes and paraphrased sentences will be cited in-text. This way of in-text citation will be very similar to that of APA in-text citations.
This is where the two systems of Chicago vastly differ from each other and is extremely important that you are using the correct system for your citations. Be sure to click on the appropriate tab to see the examples.
The Chicago Manual of Style by For the first time that you use a footnote, write out the full note (see number 1). The next time you use the source, use the shortened note (see number 2).
1. First name Last name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date), page #.
2. Last name, Shortened Title, page #.
1. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dream: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 88.
2. Pollan, The Omnivore's Dream, 92.
Two Authors
1. First name Last name and First name Last name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, Date), page #.
2. Last name and Last name, Shortened Title, page #.
1. Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941-1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 50.
2. Ward and Burns, The War, 102.
Three authors
1. First name Last name, First name Last name, and First name Last name, Title: Subtitle (City of Publication: Publisher, Date) page #.
2. Last name, Last name, and Last name, Shortened Title, page #.
1. Joyce Heatherton, James Fitzgilroy, and Jackson Hsu, Meteors and Mudslides: A Trip through...
2. Heatherton, Fitzgilroy, and Hsu, Meteors and Mudslides,...
If there are 4 or more authors, cite only the name of the first listed author followed by 'et al' in the note.
1. Claire Hacek et al., Mediated Lives: Reflections on Wearable Technologies...
2. Hacek et al., Mediated Lives...
1. First name Last name, Title: Subtitle, trans./ed. First name, Last name (City of Publication: Publisher, Date) page #.
2. Last name, Shortened TItle, page #.
1. Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Cape, 1998), 66.
2. García Márquez, Cholera, 33.
1. Chapter author's First name Last name, "Title of Chapter," in Title, ed. First name Last name of Editor (City of Publication: Publisher,
Date), page #.
2. Chapter author's Last name, "Chapter Title," page #.
1. Glenn Gould, "Streisand as Schwarzkopf," in The Glenn Gould Reader, ed. Tim Page (New York: Vintage, 1984), 310.
2. Gould, "Streidand as Schwarzkopf," 309.
For books downloaded from a library or bookseller, the note should reflect specifically where it is located and in which format.
1. First name Last name, Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Date) location, Format.
2. Last name, Shortened Title, location.
1. Mary Ann Noe, Ivory Trenches: Adventures of an English Teacher (self-pub., Amazon Digital Services, 2016), loc. 444 of 3023, Kindle.
2. Noe, Ivory Trenches, loc. 500 of 3023.
For books consulted online or through a database, include the DOI (if available) or the URL (if DOI is not available) as part of the note.
1. First name Last name, Title (City of Publication: Publisher, date) location, doi: .
2. Last name, Shortened Title, location, doi.
3. First name Last name, Title (City of Publication, Publisher, date), page #, stable URL.
4. Last name, Shortened TItle, page #.
1. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014), chap. 3,
https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0004.
2. Bonds, Absolute Music, chap. 11, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.003.0012.
3. Karen Lystra, Dangerous Intimacy: The Untold Story of Mark Twain's Final Years (Berkelley: University of California Press, 2004), 59,
http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt8779q6kr/.
4. Lystra, Dangerous Intimacy, 60-61.
(Last name Date, page #).
(Pollan 2008, 64)
(Pollan 2008, 79-83)
(Pollan 2008, 88, 95, 103)
For a book with two authors:
(Last name and Last name Date, page #)
(Ward and Burns 2007, 195)
For a book with three authors:
(Last name, Last name, and Last name Date, page #)
(Heatherton, Fitzgilroy, and Hsu 2008, 250)
For a book with four or more authors, cite only the last name of the first- listed author, followed by et al.
(Last name et al. Date, page #)
(Hacek et al. 2015, 384)
(Last name of author Date, page #)
(García Márquez 1988, 230)
(Last name of chapter author Date, page #)
(Gould 1984, 310)
If there is an abbreviation for the organization, like WHO or NASA, then list the abbreviation first followed by the spelling of the organization name.
(Organization name Date, page #)
(BSI 1985, 23)
1. First name, Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title vol. number, issue no. (Publication Date): page number.
1. Donald Maletz, "Tocqueville's Tangents to Democracy," American Political Thought 4, no. 4 (Fall 2015): 615.
If you accessed an article through a database, then you will need to include the DOI (digital object identifier) or if there is no DOI available, the stable URL. If there is no DOI, use the shortened stable URL in the place of the DOI.
1. First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title vol. number, issue no. (Publication Date): page number, https://doi.org/xxxxxx.
2. First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title vol. number, issue no. (Publication Date): page number, shortened URL.
1. Miriam Schoenfield, "Moral Vagueness Is Ontic Vagueness," Ethics 126, no. 2 (2016): 260-61, https://doi.org/10.1086/683541.
2. Frank P. Whitney, "The Six-Year High School in Cleveland," School Review 37, no. 4 (April 1929): 268,
http://www.jstor.org/stable/1078814.
If the URL is very long and not available, list the name of the commercial database in lieu of the the URL.
1. First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title vol. number, issue no. (Publication Date): page number, name of Database.
1. Zina Giannopoulou, "Prisoners of Plot in José Saramago's The Cave" Philosophy and Literature 38, no. 2 (2014): 335, Project Muse.
2. Giannopoulou, "Prisoners," 337.
This will be the same, whether it is a physical journal article or an article from a database.
(Last name Date, page #)
(Maletz 2015, 615)
1. First name Last name, "Article Name," Magazine Title, Month and year of publication, page.
1. Beth Saulnier, "From Vine to Wine," Cornell Alumni Magazine, September/October 2008, 48.
2. Jill Lepore, "The Man Who Broke the Music Business," New Yorker, April 27, 2015, 59.
Include the URL at the end of the citation. If the URL is not available, then include the name of the database where you got the article.
1. First name Last name, "Article Name," Magazine Title, Month and year of publication, [page if given], URL/ Database name.
1. Karl Vick, "Cuba on the Cusp," Time, March 26, 2015, http://time.com/3759629/cuba-us-policy/.
2. Henry William Hanemann, "French as She Is Now Spoken," Life, August 26, 1926, 5, ProQuest.
Newspapers are formatted the same way as magazine articles.
1. First name Last name, "Article Name," Newspaper Title, Month and year of publication [, edition if given].
1. Mike Ryoko, "Next Time, Dan, Take Aim at Arnold," Chicago Tribune, September 23, 1992.
2. Christopher Lehmann- Haupt, "Robert Giroux, Editor, Publisher and Nurturer of Literary Giant, Is Dead at 94," New York Times,
September 6, 2008, New York edition.
If the newspaper article was accessed online, include the URL at the end. If there is no URL and it was accessed via a database, include the database name.
1. First name Last name, "Article Name," Newspaper Title, Month and year of publication, URL.
2. First name Last name, "Article Name," Newspaper Title, Month and year of publication, Database name.
1. David G. Savage, "Stanford Student Goes to Supreme Court to Fight for Her Moms," Los Angeles Times, April 27, 2015, Nation,
http://www.latimes.com/nation/la-na-gay-marriage-children-201504024-story.html.
2. John Meyers, "Invasive Faucet Snails Confirmed in Twin Ports Harbor," Duluth (MN) News-Tribune, September 26, 2014, EBSCOhost.
Magazine and newspaper article in-text citations will be very similar to that of journal articles, no matter where they were accessed.
If the page number is listed, include the page number.
(Last name Date, page #)
If the page number is not listed, still include the last name and date.
(Last name Date)
1. "Title of Webpage," Title of Website, Owner or Sponsor of website, [last modified or accessed date], URL.
1. "Apps for Office Sample Pack," Office Dev Center, Microsoft Corporation, updated October 20, 2015,
https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.
2. "Privacy Policy," Privacy & Terms, Google, last modified March 25, 2016, http://www.google.com/policies/privacy.
3. "Balkan Romani," Endangered Languages, Alliance for Linguistic Diversity, accessed April 6, 2016, http://www.endangered
languages.com/lang/5342.
University of Chicago. The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017.