Applied Behavior Analysis and Autism Studies: Books

The Applied Behavior Analysis Practice Guidebook: A Manual for Professional Practice gives behavioral practitioners pragmatic advice, direction and recommendations for being an effective clinician, consultant, supervisor and performance manager. The book adopts a how to do it perspective featuring contributions from expert scientist-practitioners.

Written by leading experts in language and cognition, this groundbreaking behavior analysis textbook brings the study of verbal behavior into the 21st century with cutting-edge research. Students and clinicians in the burgeoning field of applied behavior analysis will find the theoretical foundation they need to effectively help the increasingly diverse clients seeking their services.

Albert J. Kearney explains the kinds of learning and reinforcement processes that form the basis of ABA programs. Having covered these essential principles, he describes how the science of behavior analysis can be effectively applied to real life behavior problems. He looks at how behavior is assessed and various intervention techniques that are often employed with children who have autism and other special needs. Having laid these essential foundations, Kearney touches on more advanced topics: the applications of ABA in behavioral education, such as precision teaching and programmed instruction.

A Workbook of Ethical Case Scenarios in Applied Behavior Analysis presents over 85 real-world case scenarios commonly faced by individuals practicing applied behavior analysis. The examples range in difficulty and severity to address the unique challenges and needs of those teaching, practicing, or learning applied behavior analysis through ethics-focused coursework or preparing for the BACB® certification exam. In addition to case scenarios, the book provides detailed questions to facilitate discussion and critical thinking and offers suggestions related to the navigation of ethically precarious situations.

Siegel explains how to take an inventory of a child's particular disabilities, breaks down the various kinds unique to autism, discusses our current knowledge about each, and reviews the existing strategies for treating them.

Evidence-Based Practice and Intellectual Disabilities responds to the recent increased focus on, and need for, the use of evidence-based practice (EBP) in treating intellectual disabilities. Provides clinical guidelines based on the strength of evidence of treatments for a given problematic behavioral topography or disorder.

Similar to a handbook in its comprehensive description of the theory and research supporting current practices in the treatment of autism spectrum disorders, this interdisciplinary text shows how the existing knowledge base can be used to explore promising new possibilities related to the field's many unanswered questions.

There have been enormous developments and diversifications in the approaches offered by behavioral psychologists to the treatment of ASD, and this text now brings together new evidence regarding these contemporary developments in one place, offering an essential handbook of contemporary behavioral practice for ASD, provided by the key researchers in the field. This book provides detailed empirically-based reviews of many of the behavioral interventions that are used to help children and adults with ASD.

The book addresses how to apply interventions based on principles of applied behavior analysis (ABA) to assist children with autism in general education settings. Covers assessment and planning for inclusion, principles of instruction, facilitating communication, promoting peer interaction, and collaboration with families. Contains reproducible data collection forms.

Succinct and organized, this "quick start" manual provides immediate, practical assistance about how to plan, organize, implement, coordinate, and monitor an educational program. It is written for teachers, administrators, related service personnel, parents, and persons who are responsible for teaching children and youth with autism and cognitive delays.

Featuring contributions from national experts, practicing clinicians, researchers, and academics that balance both a scholarly yet practical perspective, this book guides the reader through theoretical foundations to clinical applications to help behavior analysts understand the impact of diversity in the ABA service delivery model.