Felician University Library: Psychological Tests & Measures : Finding Tests &amp; Measures

PsycTESTS

APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window

A one-of-a-kind resource for measurement and instrumentation tools.

Professionally indexed, the APA PsycTests^® database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.

Focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available, APA PsycTests helps researchers easily find scales and measures for their own use.

Key benefits of APA PsycTests

Helps researchers avoid "reinventing the wheel" by exposing thousands of research instruments and their psychometric properties
An ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects, with the availability of multiple measures, research instruments, and test types in a variety of subject areas
Indexes a wide variety of measurement instruments for use by professionals and academics across multiple disciplines and fields of study

About PsycTESTS

Database Type	Bibliographic, plus full text and multimedia. (approximately 50% of test records contain the actual test or test items.)
Record Types	Descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration, mostly drawn from articles in peer-reviewed journals or books, with downloadable tests. The Master Test Profile summarizes the test and provides purpose and construct; records for development, review, or use provide additional details.
Record Format	HTML, PDF, some multimedia and computer software
Sources for Tests	Directly from authors Peer reviewed journals Books and handbooks Dissertations Websites The Archives of the History of American Psychology Test Collection Commercial test publishers (descriptive information only)
Additional Information	In addition to information on number of items, test format, administration method, and so on, 518 records contain Supporting Documentation, such as answer sheets, instructions, guides, check lists, or record sheets.
Permissions	A permissions field alerts users to the tests they can use for research or teaching without formal permission. Other options include contacting the author and/or the publisher. The majority of tests in the database can be used without formal permission.
Update Frequency	Updated Monthly
Coverage Dates	1896 to present. 79% are from 2000 and later; 89% are from 1990 and later.
Content Coverage	A diverse array of subject areas and types of tests. Examples: Developmental Measures Scales for Beliefs, Relationships, or Expectancies Aggression, Coping, or Functional Status Questionnaires Racial and Ethnic Identity Scales Resilience, Anger Response, or Substance Abuse Inventories Physical Health Related Assessments Personality Assessments Educational Measures Neuropsychological Assessments Aptitude and Achievement Measures Competency Measures Occupational Measures Intelligence Tests Military Tests

Access to Psychological Tests

Please note that full access (the measurement + scoring key and/or manual) to most clinical Psychological measures is not available to student researchers. Access to clinical tests is often restricted to Registered Psychologists only (those with a PhD in Psychology), to the clinical Psychology graduate students they supervise, and other professionals in health and counseling fields. Restricting access to tests helps ensure the validity of tests, including their persuasiveness when reported upon in a legal context, and reduces false diagnoses and misapplications by non-professionals.
In addition, there are also often publisher-imposed copyright and licensing restrictions (e.g., prohibitions on reproducing tests) which further restrict access.
Commercial psychological tests/measures require a fee to access them, and some (particularly in Business) may be prohibitively expensive for students. You will also likely require professional credentials to access them. However, library resources provide helpful descriptive and evaluative information about commercial tests.
Unpublished/non-commercial tests are free to access, but you may require permission from the test creator(s) to use or obtain the test, and access may be restricted, depending on your credentials.
Information about both commercial and unpublished and psychological tests is amply available, including journal articles that discuss the application and scoring of a particular test. In many cases, you may be able to track down the test or measure itself of unpublished tests, but without the scoring key or manual. And indeed there still exists a selection of tests with scoring keys that are available to general researchers.