Psychological Tests & Measures : Searching PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS serves as a repository for the full text (when available) of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to the following subjects:

• Business
• Education
• Neuroscience
• Health & Medicine
• History
• Law
• Management
• Politics & Government
• Psychology
• Psychiatry
• Science
• Social Sciences & Humanities

Users can search by author, journal title, test name, keyword, and a variety of other fields.

Users can also limit the search to a variety of specifications:

• Fee - most of the tests in APA PsycTESTS are available free of charge, but some have fees associated with them.
• Test Record Type - in addition to the test record itself, many items have additional supporting information, include test development records, test reviews, test use, and test primary data.
• Supporting Documentation - some of the items include both test instruments and additional documentation to support their use, e.g., answer sheets, directions, etc.
• Permissions - many tests may be used for teaching/research purposes; those that do not give blanket permission instruct users to contact the author or publisher. Pay attention to the permissions requirements before using a test.
• Administration Method
• Age Group
• Population Group

Search by Keyword

Search by Title

1. Select Advanced Search
2. Enter the Title of the Test you are interested in
3. Select TI Title from the drop down menu

Once you have set up and run your search, PsycTESTS generates a list of items that best matches your search criteria.

The Results List provides the basic information for each test including:

• Test Name
• Author’s Name
• Language
• Construct (This is what the test is intended to measure)
• Subjects (Also known as Subject Headings)

When you click on the Title of a Test you will be taken to the Full Record for that item.

In the Full Record, you find the following information:

• Test name
• Year of publication
• Languages
• Description of the test
• Construct
• Purpose
• Administration Method
• Publisher's Website: This often contains additional information about the test as well as sample questions

When the Full Text of a Test is available, you will see the PDF Full Text icon under the citation in the results list, click to access the test.

• PDF Full Text: The full article is available for downloading/printing in PDF format.
• Hint: Use the Full Text limiter to limit your results to only show tests that include Full Text
• If you need access to a test that we do not have the full text of - contact a librarian. 

The first page provides you with some information about the test as well as the original citation for the instrument.

The remaining pages contain the actual test.